Thursday, December 1, 2022

Harry Potter Play London Reviews

Don't Miss

Harry Potter And The Cursed Child: What’s It All About

Harry Potter and The Cursed Child | 2022 West End Trailer

A must for any and all Harry Potter fans, this theatrical extension of J.K. Rowling’s wizarding world has Harry’s youngest son, the impressively named Albus Severus Potter, trying to cope with the weight of his family’s legacy. Of course he is at Hogwarts, but without giving away any spoilers, things are not quite so easy on the friend front for Albus as they were for his famous father. Meanwhile, Harry is working flat out as the Minster of Magic and seems to never really have time to listen to those who are trying to be heard.

Harry Potter And The Cursed Child Review Duel Of Dark And Light Carried Off With Dazzling Assurance

Palace theatre, LondonIts convoluted, but the latest expansion of the Potter universe is thrillingly staged, with time travel and age-old quests given a dash of post-Freudian guilt

Keep the Secrets is the injunction on badges handed out as we leave the theatre. Its a motto that makes life hard for us hacks, but I am happy to divulge that John Tiffany, as director of this pair of two-and-a-half-hour plays, has masterminded a thrilling theatrical spectacle.

It is also one that will make much more sense to hardened Potterheads than to anyone who is not a member of the global cult. What we have is a brand new work by Jack Thorne based on an original story by himself, Tiffany and JK Rowling: a venture that I approached in a state of benign semi-innocence. Ive read one of the seven Potter books and seen a couple of the eight films, and enjoyed them without becoming an addict. At times during the day, I felt as if I had wandered into Henry VI Part II without having seen the preceding plays.

I relied heavily on the expertise of my 11-year-old grandson, who was able to explain to me the intricacies of a Triwizard Tournament, sat enraptured through the day and who made a basic critical point: If youve read the books, youll get more out of the play.

Harry Potter And The Cursed Child

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Promotional poster

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is a 2016 British two-part play written by Jack Thorne based on an original story by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Thorne.Previews of the play began at the Palace Theatre, London, on 7 June 2016, and it premiered on 30 July 2016. The play opened on Broadway on 21 April 2018 at the Lyric Theatre, with previews starting on 16 March 2018. Its cast was similar to that of the first year in the West End, with returning actors Anthony Boyle, Sam Clemmett, Noma Dumezweni, Poppy Miller, Jamie Parker, Alex Price, and Paul Thornley.

The story begins nineteen years after the events of the 2007 novel Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and follows Harry Potter, now Head of the Department of Magical Law Enforcement at the Ministry of Magic, and his younger son, Albus Severus Potter, who is about to attend Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The play is marketed as the eighth story in the Harry Potter series.

In June 2021, the production team announced that the play would be re-staged as a single show for future performances on Broadway beginning in November 2021, as well the San Francisco, Toronto and Melbourne productions beginning in 2022. The existing two-part play will continue to be staged in London and Hamburg.

Read Also: Who Plays Harry In Harry Potter

Harry Potter And The Cursed Child London: A Muggle’s Review

It took a while to finally take our seats for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child thanks to the covid-crazy, but us London for Kidz muggles were pretty impressed with this page to stage epic two-part, theatrical adventure. Here’s our review on a West End show that definitely needs to be on your ‘things to do in London with kids‘ radar…

Faq Warner Brothers Studio Tour London: The Making Of Harry Potter:

West End Reviews of London Theater
  • How much time will I need?
  • I suggest at least 3 hours to get to experience it all but you could be there at least half a day if you want to absorb everything.
  • How to book tickets?
  • Do so here! You will need to book them in advance and for a specific date. Get there early to avoid the line.
  • Can I purchase souvenirs?
  • You know it! There is a HUGE shop filled with stuff from the movie, house colors, and more!
  • I personally skipped the Green Screen technology that allows you to have yourself filmed flying over Hogwarts or playing Quidditch. There was a line and also I just didnt think it looked that interesting.
  • This is not a theme park! This is a Studio Tour and youre seeing how Harry Potter is made. Yes, you can get in on some of the sets, walk through the rooms, and get an up close and personal look at the props. But its not like Disney World or Land in the sense that there are no rides.
  • Ask the staff questions! They know everything! There are also select guides who have an expertise on certain props and sets. They are usually standing by the props and are ready to chat with you.
  • You can take as many pictures as you like so make sure your camera is charged.
  • The Harry Potter studio is kid friendly and is wheel-chair accessible.
  • There is WiFi throughout the studio but save your sharing for later and experience the wizarding world in the present.
  • This post and trip was sponsored by Monograms in cooperation with iAmbassador. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

    Also Check: What Point Of View Is Harry Potter Written In

    Should We See Both Parts In One Day

    Honestly? If you have the time then absolutely yes. We all said at the end of the first show – which ended on quite the spooktacular cliff hanger – that we would have been mightily cheesed off had we opted to see the second half another time. Yes, it’s an epic day, but there is plenty of time between the afternoon show and the evening show to go and stretch your legs, grab some dinner, and pat yourselves on the back for having booked to see the second part the same day.

    Harry Potter And The Cursed Child Review The Spell

    Palace theatre, LondonEmotional punch, rich suspense and dazzling effects make for all-round magic in the latest twist in Harry Potters tale

    OK, Ill keep the secrets. After all, Im wearing the badge. But which secrets? The ending, obviously. The plot twists. And the most sudden, engulfing changes, those episodes that make the stage and hearts quake.

    But it cant be a betrayal to mention a couple of touches that make Harry Potter and the Cursed Child particular as well as exciting. The moment when smoke whooshes out of a young wizards ears. The instant when one of JK Rowlings winged messengers flaps across the stage, and someone comments: A bit late for an owl.

    It is the ingenuity, the fusion of daily life with a simmering strangeness that enchants

    Jack Thornes play, based on a new story by himself, Rowling and John Tiffany, strikes a clever balance between recognisable Pottery and a new departure. It begins where the final book left off, with the middle-aged Harry watching his son board the Hogwarts Express. Its emotional centre belongs partly to the younger wizard generation, but not entirely. The plot is driven by the pain caused by fathers who are physically or emotionally absent. The damage is shared between generations. All that time shut up under the stairs by unkind muggles has made Harry an awkward nurturer. The cunning bully Draco Malfoy has not grown into a natural carer. Both their sons suffer from having a famous parent.

    Read Also: Can I Watch Harry Potter On Hulu

    How To Get To The Warner Bros Harry Potter Studios

    The easy way to get to the Warner Brothers Studios is by joining a tour that includes transport to the studios from London and back.

    The other option is to plan how to get there yourself using public transport or by car.

    If you dont want to worry about transport, there are different options to choose from.

    Age Suitability For This Show

    Behind the Scenes of the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

    10+. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket. Babies-in-arms are not admitted to the auditorium. Please note that patrons under the age of 15 should be accompanied by an adult.

    Unlike film, theatre doesn’t have an official age classification organisation. That means all age recommendations are subjective and should be treated as guidelines unless otherwise stated. With this in mind, we ask you to use your judgement in regards to a shows suitability prior to purchase. However, we are more than happy to help you make a decision. Please email to find out more about your chosen show.

    Also Check: Did Draco Have Feelings For Hermione

    Jk Rowling John Tiffany And Jack Thorne’s Eighth Harry Potter Story Is A Triumph

    There has been such anticipation surrounding the return of Harry Potter, in new theatrical form, that I felt it was my critical duty to fight the hype. My resolve lasted all the way through the swift-moving opening scenes, when we meet Harry and his friends, now in their forties, and seeing their children off to school. It stayed in place when Ron Weasley, the eternal joker, made Lily Potter Jnr’s nose vanish into thin air and even much later when Harry went to work at the Ministry of Magic and literally disappeared in front of my eyes.

    I resisted the fluent swing and flow of the staging, which creates the entire world of Hogwarts out of a few banners and two moving library staircases and the lively suppleness of a script full of good jokes and swift insight. I was even unmoved by a sweet that makes smoke come out of a character’s ears and duelling practice with sparkling wands.

    But then Harry’s son Albus and his new friend Scorpius Malfoy find themselves on top of the Hogwarts Express, a train built on stage by piles of suitcases, yet whose movement and sway is perfectly conjured by a spinning revolve and wisps of mist. While they whirr into the night, a witch pursues them. As she prowls towards them, long fingers growing threateningly from her sleeve, the chip of ice in my heart melted and I gave in.

    This may be the surest commercial proposition for years, but it is also a spectacle of epic sweep and magisterial grandeur. It is, quite simply, magic.

    Explore The Making Of Harry Potter Studios

    From here, you walk into the exhibits where in a gigantic room awaits all of the actual sets, costumes, detailed props, and extremely helpful staff. ASK QUESTIONS. These people are Harry Potter fanatics and will answer anything and everything related to Harry Potter. Once we were sitting at a table in what was to look like Hogsmeade, where if you sit at the end the person in front looks much larger than the people in the back. The staff member taking the photo offered to take what must have been 100 photos. She kept on snapping and laughing and narrating our story of who won the Quidditch match. It was so fun! They also know everything about the props and set and can give you as little or as much information as you want!

    Youll get to peruse through sets from all 8 years of the movie. There is quite a lot to see and do and this will most likely be the area you spend the most time in.

    Here were some of my highlights:

    Ron Weasleys House was complete with a mixing bowl actually mixing itself and a needle and yarn actually knitting! It was so amazing to see how it worked and see the inside of the actual house.

    Dumbledores office felt like you were stepping into his actual office. Make sure to look around at how detailed every single prop is and how carefully it was crafted.

    Inside of Snapes Potion Room, youll find over 950 bottles with potions along with a display of his long black cape.

    Step in Hagrids Hut and take a glance at the space where the giant lived.

    Recommended Reading: What Parks Are Harry Potter World In

    Cast And Principal Roles

    Character
    ISBN 978-1-338-09913-3 978-0-7515-6535-5

    Both parts of the stage play’s script have been released in print and digital formats as Harry Potter and the Cursed Child â Parts One and Two.

    The first edition, the Special Rehearsal Edition, corresponded to the script used in the preview shows and was published on 31 July 2016, the date of Harry’s birthday in the series and Rowling’s birthday, as well. Since revisions to the script continued after the book was printed, an edited version was released on 25 July 2017, as the “Definitive Collector’s Edition”. According to CNN, this was the most preordered book of 2016.

    Here Are Your Harry Potter Studio Ticket Options:

    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

    Your main options are: Just the entry ticket ticket + transport or ticket + transport + a guided tour.

    1. Book a ticket that includes transport to and from the studios: I think this is the most practical option, as you wont have to plan the journey by yourself . This option doesnt include a live guide, but you can buy an audio guide when you get to the studios.

    2. Book a fully guided tour: This option includes transport, entry tickets and a dedicated guide who will take you around the studios.

    3. Get tickets for the studios without transport. You can get them from the studio tour website and I suggest you also check for current discount codes on Klook.

    Recommended Reading: What Is The Longest Harry Potter Movie

    Getting To The Wb Studios By Public Transport

    If you want to plan your own journey to the Harry Potter studios, youll have to take a train from London and then a bus to the studios.

    When you plan the journey, you want to allow more time in case the train is delayed or the bus gets full quickly and you have to wait for the next one.

    First, take a train from Euston Station in central London and get off at Watford Junction.

    You can use your Oyster or contactless card for this train ride, or buy train tickets in advance here by searching for London-Watford Junction trains.

    Outside the station, youll see the bus stop for the Harry Potter Studio Tour shuttle bus, that goes from the train station to the studios.

    Prepare some cash in advance, as theres a small charge for the bus. Also have your ticket booking confirmation ready .

    The train ride from London should take about 20 minutes with the express train, but if you board a local train it takes about an hour.

    If youre not sure which train to board, ask the staff at London Euston station for advice.

    The shuttle bus ride should take around 15 minutes.

    The Harry Potter Studio Tour Shops

    There are several shops in the Warner Bros Studios with plenty of gifts and souvenirs for both adults and kids.

    The Studio Shop is the main shop. Its the one you reach at the end of the tour and it is simply huge.

    It offers all the official merchandise you can imagine, collectables, wants, costumes and clothing items , homeware, art and more.

    They also have Harry Potter sweets like the irresistible Chocolate Frogs, Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans and Peppermint Toads.

    There are smaller souvenir shops youll go through during the tour:

    One is the Forbidden Forest Shop and the other is the Railway Shop, next to Platform 9¾.

    Don’t Miss: What Is The Latest Harry Potter Film Called

    Inside The Harry Potter Studios

    The Studio Tour starts with a short film about the making of Harry Potter. Its a little appetizer before you actually go into the studios.

    After the film, the door to the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry is revealed and thats where the spectacular Harry Potter experience really starts!

    Once the door opens, youll find yourself in the Great Hall.

    Its a magnificent surprise and I cant think of a better way to start a tour like this.

    Youll want to take pictures of the great costumes and the Sorting Hat, but there will be lots of people around I waited till they were all ushered into the next room so I could take some photos

    You can basically stay until the staff ask you to move on, because another group is about to enter The Great Hall.

    However, during the rest of the tour youll be completely free to explore everything at your own pace.

    Wb Studio Guided Tours Transport Included

    Harry Potter and the Cursed Child London – Reopening Trailer

    You May Like: Who Is Hedwig In Harry Potter

    Harry Potter And The Cursed Child Magic Reworked Review

    Lauren Nicole Cipoletti, Brady Dalton Richards, and James Romney | Photo: Matthew Murphy

    First things first: it is indeed much gayer, if still not as gay as it could be.

    Since its West End debut in 2016, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child has attracted intense fan interest around its central relationship. The close bond between Harry Potterâs son Albus and Draco Malfoyâs son Scorpius forms the emotional core of Jack Thorneâs play, which follows the pairâs doomed effort to âset history rightâ by stealing a time turner and saving Cedric Diggoryâs life nineteen years in the past.

    Thorneâs original text, co-conceived with director John Tiffany and J.K. Rowling does not demand Albus and Scorpiusâ bond be played as a burgeoning romance. But Tiffany and original co-stars Sam Clemmett and Anthony Boyle certainly leaned into that reading in the playâs first iteration, playing the duoâs journey as a love story even when the text sometimes insisted otherwise. Choreographer Steven Hoggett even crafted a mournful, romantic âStaircase Balletâ for a scene where the two are forced apart.

    The cast of Cursed Child | Photo: Matthew Murphy Brady Dalton Richards and James Romney | Photo: Matthew Murphy James Romney and Brady Dalton Richards | Photo: Matthew Murphy

    More articles

    Popular Articles