Tuesday, August 16, 2022

What To Read If You Like Harry Potter

Don't Miss

Percy Jackson And The Olympians By Rick Riordan

Best Books To Read If You Like Harry Potter | Books Every POTTERHEAD Must Read

Rick Riordans Percy Jackson and the Olympians is one of the most popular series to read after Harry Potter. Like the characters in the Harry Potter books, Percy Jackson grows older as the series progresses, with Percy starting as a 12-year-old in the first book and growing older with each book. In the first book, Percy discovers that his father is the Greek god Poseidon and is sent to Camp Half-Blood with other kids of divine parentage. From there, he goes on a quest to the Underworld to retrieve a stolen lightning bolt. The five-book series consists of The Lightning Thief, The Sea of Monsters, The Titans Curse, The Battle of the Labyrinth, and The Last Olympian.

If you are a Potterhead, or if you like magic-related books, youll definitely not get bored, raves one reviewer on Amazon, though others note that this series is less likely to appeal to older teens and adults than J.K. Rowlings more complex Harry Potter books.

The Lunar Chronicles By Marissa Meyer

Marissa Meyers Lunar Chronicles series lends a modern voice not just to Cinderella, but also Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, and Snow White oh, and did we mention a good portion of it takes place in outer space? From cyborgs and androids to intergalactic tyrants to lunar gangs that street-fight on the surface of the moon, every single book in this sci-fi/fairytale mashup packs a serious punch.

Books Your Child Should Read After Harry Potter

Books your child should read after Harry Potter? How many of us parents have faced this dilemma?

Heres your child all glassy-eyed and full of wonder from their journey into Hogwarts and Diagon Alley. Yet, they are simply unwilling to come back to the muggle world, but instead, wish to stay in the realm of fantasy and adventure.

Well, I too have found myself in this exact position, and Im positive Im not alone. You want to encourage this passionate reading but still, maintain some age-appropriate content. They are not ready for young adult and teen books like The Hunger Games and Divergent. So, I have scoured the internet and homeschool groups looking for what comes next.

You May Like: How Long Is The Longest Harry Potter Book

Divergent By Veronica Roth

If youve always wanted to put the sorting hat on and take personality quizzes like its your job, you need to read the Divergent series!

Beatrice is just your average girl trying to live in a post-apocalyptic world. Her society is broken down into five factions, each with a distinct personality: Abnegation , Amity , Candor , Dauntless , and Erudite .

Most people choose to stay in the faction that theyre born into, but Tris has never been one to follow the crowd, and she decides to leave her faction to try something different. Forced to leave her family behind, Tris will have to learn the rules of her new home while also hiding a dark secret that could bring her fragile society to its knees.

Mary Poppins Returns And Makes Everything All Better For One Struggling Family

If You Love Harry Potter, You

Indeed, it took a long time to develop a sequel to the 1964 Disney classic Mary Poppins. The 2018 follow-up stars Lin-Manuel Miranda, Emily Mortimer, and Emily Blunt as Mary Poppins. Of her approach to her role, Blunt said in an interview, I think that has been my main focus, is just to approach her calmly, as I would any other character, how I would play her, with what I have given on the page? I have not watched the originals since I saw it as a child, cause I no one is going to outdo Julie Andrews.

Recommended Reading: Who Did Draco Malfoy Marry

The Best Book Like Harry Potter

I recently had the great pleasure of meeting the good folks at the book charity BookTrust. As the largest reading charity in the UK, BookTrust provides books to close to 3.5 million children every year.

When I was asked via Twitter to come up with one book that children and teens would like to read after Harry Potter as part of BookTrusts #WhatToReadAfter campaign, I chose Knights of the Borrowed Dark by Dave Rudden. Its the story of an orphan named Denizen who firmly doesnt believe in the supernatural. When he discovers that monsters are crawling from the shadows and hes actually part of an ancient family of mage-knights sent to destroy them, his opinion changes somewhat.

Using BookTrusts #WhatToReadAfter initiative, you can find great books to keep you going within a particular genre or style. No matter what House you belong to, here are some great books that you can read after youve finished Harry Potter.

By signing up you agree to our terms of use

His Dark Materials By Philip Pullman

The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass are all part of the series.

His Dark Materials tells the story of two young people who travel through a variety of parallel universes as they come of age. This series is more than just a fantasy world full of witches and armored polar bears. Paradise Lost borrows its title from John Milton’s poem and explores a variety of philosophical, scientific, and theological issues. There’s a good reason these books have garnered so much praise.

Don’t Miss: Draco Malfoy Middle Name

The Lost Twin By Sophie Cleverly

What makes Harry Potter such a winning formula across the globe is its use of a genre that has always been an immensely popular British export: the boarding school novel. If youve been to boarding school, its the familiarity of these settings, combined with JK Rowlings wry sense of humour and funny takes on those familiar events and scenes, which makes them so irresistible.

Boarding school novels, which transform these traditionally rather grim British institutions into places of fun and adventure, have a lot to answer for. Many a 20th century European read Enid Blytons Mallory Towers series and happily agreed to go off to boarding school in England, only to discover what boarding school life was really like. Reality aside, boarding school novels remain an incredibly exciting reading experience: kids are on their own, without parents, questioning authority, embarking on adventures within a familiar, delineated area, and its a sleepover with friends every single night. Whats not to like?

By far the most popular boarding school series in our house is Scarlett and Ivy by Sophie Cleverly, where the two main characters solve mysteries and uncover secrets from the past.

The Murder Most Unladylikeseries is also set at a boarding school, this time in the 1930s, and featuring another crime-investigating duo, Daisy and Hazel. Also quite fun is the School for Good and Evil which, like Harry Potter, has magic in a school setting, though fewer lessons.

Lockwood & Co By Jonathan Stroud

5 Books to read if you liked Harry Potter

Ghosts have taken over England, but only young people can see and eradicate them in Jonathan Strouds five-book Lockwood and Co. series. Narrated by 15-year-old Lucy Carlyle, these action-packed books have all the humor and heart of the Harry Potter series, and a good deal of the mystery and suspense as well.

Older middle school kids and young adults love Lockwood and Co., as do many adult readers. I had no clue this wasnt an adult series, but I was hooked and didnt care, writes on reviewer on Amazon. And like Harry Potter, this series is no less delightful just because it was written with a younger reader in mind, raves another reader.

In order, the five books of the Lockwood and Co. series are The Screaming Staircase, The Whispering Skull, The Hollow Boy, The Creeping Shadow, and The Empty Grave. Stroud has also written a short story in the Lockwood and Co. series, The Dagger in the Desk, which is available for free on Kindle.

Recommended Reading: Is Dumbledore Dead

The Worst Witch By Jill Murphy

I grew up reading Mildred Hubbles adventures in school. I remember ordering the third book A Bad Spell for the Worst Witch from my school book club when I was nine.

Many books like Harry Potter were on childrens bookshelves years before the boy wizard was a twinkle in Rowlings eye. The Worst Witch is one of them and Mildreds adventures are aimed at the same audience range as Harry Potter.

Like Harry, Mildred is not a particularly talented witch. She messes up spells, her tabby cat is afraid of flying on the back of her broomstick and class-bully Ethel is a thorn in poor Mildreds side.

Fortunately, Mildred has a friend in Maud who helps Mildred navigate her way through classes. Yet trouble is brewing, and the young witches will need all their wits about them as an evil witch plots to take over the school.

This is a fantastic read for any young reader looking for a magical fix.

Half Magic By Edward Eager

Coming up next, another nostalgic entry! Indeed, Half Magic is old enough now to be a septuagenarians fond childhood memory. But its hilarious premise and timeless story of kids discovering magic have helped it endure. In Half Magic, siblings Jane, Mark, Katherine, and Martha find an enchanted coin that will grant any wish they speak to it but only halfway.

Eagers execution of this concept is brilliant, his comic timing top-notch. Youll laugh nonstop at the childrens hijinks, from making their cat speak gibberish to going back in time to meet Lancelot . But by the end of the book, youll also understand as the kids do too that wishing itself can only get you so far, and that imagination is the truest source of magic.

Read Also: What Is In Wideye Potion

Hogwarts Library By Jk Rowling

The Hogwarts Library is a three-volume set that gives you an inside look into the magical world of Hogwarts. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is Newt Scamanders opus on magical creatures. Quidditch Through the Ages tells this history of the game and explains the rules. The Tales of Beedle the Bard is a collection of fairy tales set in the Wizarding World. Together, this tiny trilogy gives Harry Potter fans deeper insight into the world J.K. Rowling so masterfully created. A lavishly illustrated box set is also available.

The Hunger Games By Suzanne Collins

If You Liked... Harry Potter

The one-sentence pitch: If you want to be drawn completely into another world like Harry Potter, The Hunger Games is for you.

What is it about? Set in dystopian North America, Katniss Everdeen decides to take her sister’s place in the 74th annual Hunger Games a televised tournament which requires its “tributes” to fight to the death. These children are chosen by lottery from 12 poor Districts surrounding the wealthy Capitol to reinforce its power and authority. But when Katniss enters the arena, things start to change.

How many books? Three, but there’s also a prequel thrown in there for superfans.

Who is it for? Teens, young adults, anyone who loves dystopian YA Fiction.

Why it’s worth reading? I’m big on character-driven stories, and this has that in spades. It will have you choosing sides and latching onto favourites in exactly the same way the Harry Potter series does, and you will not be able to put it down. The way these books are written and the characters that emerge is captivating.

What kind of Potter fan are you? I grew up as a Hufflepuff in a house full of Gryffindors, but I named my cat Cedric Diggory after the most legendary Hufflepuff to exist and never looked back.

Recommended by Kathryn Perrott

The one-sentence pitch: The Secret of Platform 13 was published three years before the first Harry Potter book and also involves a platform at London’s King’s Cross station that opens for a limited time to transport characters to a magical place.

Recommended Reading: Who’s My Harry Potter Boyfriend

Harry Potter And The Cursed Child By Jk Rowling Jack Thorne And John Tiffany

Nineteen years after Harry, Ron, and Hermione leave Hogwarts, Harry is working in the Ministry of Magic and raising three kids with his wife Ginny. While the original trio are important characters in this direct sequel to the Harry Potter series, the spotlight in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child shines brightest on Harrys son Albus and Albuss best friend, Scorpio Malfory, who both must wrestle with their families legacies.

Sometimes called the eighth Harry Potter book, The Cursed Child is different from all the others because its a stage play rather than a novel. It doesnt read like a Harry Potter book, but it is an official continuation of the Hogwarts story. See it on the stage in person if you can, but if you cant, the official playscript of the original West End production is a good substitute.

Magical Books Like Harry Potter

When Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows was released, some of us thought wed never find another worthy book series again. But little did we know that there are tons of other amazing books like Harry Potter out there you just have to know where to look!

Fortunately, as Albus Dumbledore said, Help will always be given on the Internet to those who ask for it. Here are 20 magical books like Harry Potter that will Portkey you right back to your Hogwarts days.

Psst think that you’ve got what it takes to call yourself a true Potterhead? Take our ultimate trivia quiz below to find out!

Also Check: Whats Harry Potters Owls Name

Midnight For Charlie Bone By Jenny Nimmo

Charlie Bones is a ten-year-old living with his cruel grandmother and her three evil sisters. After finding a photo of a missing person he discovers that he can hear voices in photographs. He learns that his ancestor is a powerful magician, the Red King. Shortly after Charlie goes to Bloors Academy, a school for geniuses, to be around other children with magical powers. While exploring hidden rooms and uncovering secrets, he balances new friendships and evades the evil Dr. Bloor.

This is an easy and fast-paced read for grades 3-8. Midnight for Charlie Bone has 416 pages. It is the first book in an eight-book series exploring other members of Charlies family and even going back in time. This book has plenty of normal magical gifts and even more unique ones bringing life into this magical world hidden within our own. Check out this post for more about Charlie Bone.

The Hazel Wood Series

5 Must Read Books After You’ve Re-Read Harry Potter | #BookBreak

Before becoming a smash-hit author, Melissa Albert had a humble background in book publishing, which means she had a very good sense of what readers might devour in the form of fantasy novels. The Hazel Wood is decidedly a book for kids older than the target audience of Potter or other middle-grade fantasy, but if your tweens havent heard of these books, youre doing them a disservice.

Focused on a girl named Alice charged with rescuing her mother from a creepy Hinterland, The Hazel Wood mixes horror and adventure in equal measure. It also has nice family dynamics, and positive, life-affirming messages of love in the face of adversity. The books are also extremely creative and oddly familiar at the same time. These are the kinds of fantasy novels youll wish you had growing up. Great for kids 12 and up.

Recommended Reading: What’s Hermione’s Cat’s Name

Alice In Wonderland Is A Magical Remake With An All

In 2010, Disney decided to release a remake of the classic Alice in Wonderland. The cast includes Johnny Depp, Helena Bonham Carter, Mia Wasikowska, Michael Sheen, and Anne Hathaway. Of her character, Hathaway explained to Indie London, I think she understands that she has to be queen in order for her sister not to be queen. But I think she would have been just as happy being an alchemist, or the alchemist to the queen.

Books After Harry Potter

Artemis Fowl 12 year old Artemis Fowl is the most ingenious criminal mastermind in history! This series combines folklore, fantasy, and a fistful of high tech funk with its fairies. This is the first book in a series of 8 books.

Grade Level: 5-9

The Land of Stories Through the mysterious powers of a cherished book series, twins Alex and Conner leave their world behind and find themselves in a foreign land full of wonder and magic where they come face to face with the fairy tale characters they grew up reading about. A 5 book series.

Grade Level: 3-7

Warriors: Into the Wild For generations, four Clans of wild cats have shared the forest according to the laws laid down by their ancestors. But the warrior code is threatened, and the ThunderClan cats are in grave danger. The sinister ShadowClan grows stronger every day. Noble warriors are dying and in the midst of this chaos, an ordinary house cat named Rusty appears.who may be the bravest warrior of them all. This is the first book in a series of 6 books.

Grade Level: 5-7

Don’t Miss: Restart Hogwarts Mystery

Caraval By Stephanie Garber

Caraval is a game that is played once a year in a remote location. To get there, you need an invitation. Tella and her sister Scarlett have received an invitation and escape the island they live on and their cruel father to attend. This story is dark and magical where nothing is at it seems. Click here to see our Ultimate List of YA Fantasy!

Keeper Of The Lost Cities By Shannon Messenger

Ultimate list of books like Harry Potter #booklist #readinglist # ...

Twelve-year-old Sophie Foster is a telepath who has always assumed her secret is safe. But is it? When she meets Fitz, she realizes shes not alone. Soon Sophie travels to a fantasy world where she can reveal her true identitybut that world is in danger, and only she can save it.

If you liked the Harry Potter books for their immersive world-building and massive page counts, then Shannon Messengers Keeper of the Lost Cities series is for you. Reviewers call these big 400-plus-page books brilliant,fun for tweens and grownups alike, and the best series ever. The nine books in the series are Keeper of the Lost Cities, Exile, Everblaze, Neverseen, Lodestar, Nightfall, Flashback, Legacy, and Unlocked. The books become longer and more complex as the story grows.

Read Also: Who Wrote The Music For Harry Potter

More articles

Popular Articles